Sheeran’s Comeback to Music Career


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After taking hiatus over a year, on January 1 2017, british singer and songwriter Ed Sheeran uploaded a video on his social media which shows him hold a piece of paper with words “New Music Coming Friday” written there. On January 2 2017, he posted a 10-seconds video on his social media showing a blue background with a mathematical symbol, ÷, on it. Well, here he goes again with this mathematical symbol after his last two albums “+” (read: plus) and “×” (read: multiple) released.

YesterdayーMarch 3 2017ーhis forthcoming album called “÷” (read: divide) released worldwide, featuring 12 songs and 4 bonus songs for the deluxe version. Two songs from the featuring album, “Castle on the Hill” and “Shape of You”, had released their music videos on January 23 and 30 2017 in his official youtube channel, Ed Sheeran. He also released the live-music video entitled “How Would You Feel (Pæan)” on his 26th birthday (February 17 2017) in his youtube channelーwhich makes me speechless because of its beautiful lyric and ballad-tone.

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of romance, but hearing this made me imagining that I’m with my (imaginary) boyfriendーsince I’m single. But I really comfortable with my status right now, because some of the boys in my school are ugly #whoopsie . My most favourite ballad-type song from Ed Sheeran, after “Lego House”, “The A Team”, and “Photograph”.

Do you know that “How Would You Feel (Pæan)” is actually his favorite song on “÷”, since it’s inspired from his girlfriend? Click here for the whole story.

Other songs like “Castle on the Hill”, “Shape of You”, “Perfect”, and “Barcelona” are my most favourite too from this album. The beautiful lyric and tone from “Castle on the Hill” makes me can’t get this song out of my head and perfect for getting lost in thoughts. The seductive lyric, but catchy tone from “Shape of You” also makes me can’t get this song out of my head. The beautiful lyric and tone from “Perfect” which is perfect for slow-dance and wedding song (I think). And, the catchy tone and classic-like lyric from “Barcelona”. To be honest, I really love this song since you can hear Ed talks in Spanish fluently at the end of the songーmixing with his British accent #lol .

Overall, Ed did a splendid job for his new album and I really appreciate him. A lot of beautiful songs that won’t let them out of your head, and sometimes make you mellow or sometimes make you dance. This is his uniqueness and he’s trying to share it with youーespecially the Sheerios (named after Ed Sheeran’s fans). Surprisingly, he nailed itーfrom the beginning of his music career until now. You can hear his full album on spotify or joox or etc. (it’s up to you which one that makes you really comfortable with).

Album: ÷ (read: divide)

Artist: Ed Sheeran

Release date: 3 March 2017

Label: Atlantic Records

Genre: Pop

Score: 9/10

  1. Eraser
  2. Castle on the Hill
  3. Dive
  4. Shape of You
  5. Perfect
  6. Galway Girl
  7. Happier
  8. New Man
  9. Hearts Don’t Break Around Here
  10. What Do I Know?
  11. How Would You Feel (Pæan)
  12. Supermarket Flowers
  13. Barcelona
  14. Bibia Be Ye Ye
  15. Nancy Mulligan
  16. Save Myself

ps: sorry for my bad grammar, guys 🙂